The Chesapeake Section was chartered in April 1988 with 123 Charter Members, a record number for any ASHE section chartered to that date. Maryland represented the fifth state in which an ASHE Section was created.

Mr. Paul McConnell of the Delaware Valley Section made first contact with a transplanted ASHE member, Dave Greenwood, to suggest a new section be organized in Maryland. Paul came to the Aberdeen Sheraton Inn to make a formal introduction and presentation about ASHE and was instrumental in generating interest to form the new section. A diverse group of individuals representing the Maryland State Highway Administration (SHA), Baltimore County Department of Public Works (DPW), Interstate Division for Baltimore City (IDBC), various consultants/A/E firms, and other highway industry personnel was assembled to serve in the capacity of officers or board members for the Section. 

An inaugural meeting was held in the spring of 1988 in advance of “Charter Night”.  This meeting was held at the Engineers Club, a facility converted from two, large historic brownstones, located in the Mount Vernon section of Baltimore in close proximity to Baltimore’s Washington Monument. The first, seminar-style program was presented by SHA’s Ed Stein on Stormwater Management and Sediment & Erosion Control and was an opportunity for SHA to provide “on-the-spot” training for all attendees.  

Charter Night was held on April 21, 1988. Charter Number 24 was signed by the then-National President, Ron Springman, and National Secretary, Terence Connor. Harry McCullough, then Chief, Interstate Division for Baltimore City, was Master of Ceremonies, and a multi-media program presentation on the Fort McHenry Tunnel project was presented by Ken Merrill. A record number of Charter Members attended, a record maintained until the Carolina Triangle Section was chartered in January 1992.

David Greenwood served as the Section’s Charter President and later served as a National Board Director and National President in 1996/1997.

Activities & Involvement

Soon after the chartering of the Chesapeake Section, approval to host the 1993 Annual Conference was requested and received. The conference was held at Baltimore’s Inner Harbor with a program emphasis on highway impacts to the environment and the associated mitigation design. Activities included a tour of the Engineers Club (Icebreaker), a project tour of the new Maryland Route 100, and a special Saturday Session on TravTech vehicles, the first generation of cars to include a navigation system; a TravTech vehicle was brought on site for navigation system capability viewing. Other activities included a Baltimore Orioles baseball game and a tour of Oriole Park at Camden Yards.

The Chesapeake Section co-sponsored the 2006 National Conference in Williamsburg, Virginia; the conference emphasized the past, present and future of the highway industry and included activities such as a visit to historic Jamestown and guided tours of historic Williamsburg.

Members of the Chesapeake Section have been involved with the New Sections Committee in the past helping to form new sections in Virginia, North Carolina, Georgia, Florida, New Jersey and North Dakota. This effort was instrumental in expanding ASHE’s national exposure. Our members continue to participate in committees and leadership positions at both the Mid-Atlantic Region and National level to this day.  Chesapeake is also a regular participant in the successful Mid-Atlantic Region Technical Conference, held each spring in central region. This one day forum provides seven (7) PDH’s to attendees and is a key mechanism in Chesapeake’s efforts to strengthen its relationships and fellowship with the eight (8) Sections in the Region.

In 2014-2015, ASHE Chesapeake established student chapters at Morgan State University and the University of Maryland. These universities have been scholarship recipients since the John Bruck scholarship program was established.   They continue to provide activities for their members and they attend the Chesapeake Section’s meetings and events each year. Chesapeake has a University Outreach Committee and they are involved in coordination of the student chapter activities with Chesapeake’s as well as providing support to the student chapters to ensure their continued success. The student chapters are very dynamic and Chesapeake understands the importance of mentoring their efforts and fostering “the next generation” of ASHE stakeholders.

The Chesapeake Section attends the annual Maryland Quality Initiative Conference (MdQI) in Baltimore each year. It is a very popular and well attended conference for the various stakeholders in the highway/transportation industry for the Mid-Atlantic Region. Chesapeake has a booth and distributes member applications at this forum to increase local awareness of ASHE’s mission and grow out membership. We have benefited from ASHE National’s exposure grant program in the funding of this effort and recognize this is a key forum for us to be present at to support ASHE and our local success.

The Chesapeake Section hosted the 2015 National ASHE Conference in Baltimore, MD. The event was a success and provided everyone a good experience and opportunity to visit and vacation in Baltimore’s Inner Harbor.

In the 2016-2017 season, Chesapeake formed a Younger Members Committee. One of the goals of this committee and initiative is to foster a forum and opportunity for younger professionals that may be just out of college to come out and have some fun and get to know members of the Chesapeake Section.  We are very excited about this group and its continued involvement with the Chesapeake Section’s growth.

The Chesapeake Section continues to hold section meetings at the Engineers Club. The standard meeting format is unique to ASHE and includes technical sessions in the afternoon followed by a social hour, dinner, and a speaker. This format provides for professional development hour (PDH) opportunities, while, at the same time, promoting the attendance of younger members. Each meeting’s technical program places an emphasis on a specific discipline, whether it is planning, traffic, hydrology/hydraulics, water resources, or highway construction.

Past Presidents

1988-1989 David Greenwood 2005-2006 Gerry Dougherty
1989-1990 Jacqueline Schrenker-Case 2006-2007 Chris McGuire
1990-1991 Vince Pielli 2007-2008 Tony Frascarella
1991-1992 Jerry Edwards 2008-2009 Todd Lang
1992-1993 Dick Trainor 2009-2010 Rob Hudson
1993-1995 Vince Pielli 2010-2011 Roger Carriker
1995-1996 Paula Smith 2011-2012 Marco Avila
1996-1999 Dick Evans 2012-2013 Nimish Desai
1999-2000 Tony Mawry 2013-2014 Matt Waters
2000-2001 Peter Kleskovic 2014-2015 Kristin Fusco Rowe
2001-2002 Bo Ward 2015-2016 Brian Post
2002-2003 Leon Kriebel 2016-2017 Heather Henck
2003-2004 Chris Brooks 2017-2018 Dion Ho
 2004-2005 Rick Kiegel