Proceeds from the 1993 National Conference, held in Baltimore, were used to initiate a scholarship program for college engineering students. The program was named for John Bruck, an SHA employee, who labored tirelessly during the 1993 National Conference to ensure all activity-related transportation needs were met.  John was a man of vision and held the highway industry dear to his heart.

The scholarships are awarded to students from each of the local engineering schools: Johns Hopkins University, Morgan State University, and the University of Maryland. The scholarship program is also supported by an annual golf outing. ┬áThe Chesapeake Section has awarded over $140,000 in scholarships since the program’s initiation.

To apply, you must be a sophomore or junior undergraduate student interested in pursuing a career in transportation, highway engineering, construction or a related field.  

For additional information on applying for the scholarship, reach out to Kathy Walsh.

Congratulations to our 2023 Scholarship Recipients, who each received a $2,500 scholarship!

  • Hope Atkins, Morgan State University
  • Syan Smoot, Morgan State University
  • Robert Mayo, University of Maryland
  • Neha Rehman, University of Maryland
  • Michael Ogunsemowo, University of Maryland

Donate to the ASHE Chesapeake Scholarship Fund

Donations of any dollar amount are greatly appreciated by the section and scholarship recipients.  You can donate with a credit card through PayPal (a PayPal account is not needed).  You will be taken to a new screen where you can enter your donation amount in the “Donation Amount” field. If the name of the person or company making the donation is different from the PayPal or credit card account holder, please note that in the field for “Add special instruction to the seller”. Thank you for your support!